The Learning Bowl

The Learning Bowl

Danielle Rose Byrd, Dave Fisher, Peter Follansbee , and Amy Umbel are all on my list of those that provide inspiration.  They are directly responsible for my initial attempts to make a wooden bowl.

My first attempt was to make a traditional Swedish bowl or bark up bowl.  I blame this on Danielle based on her wonderful instagram feed https://www.instagram.com/danielle_rose_byrd/ and Peter’s great video on bowl carving available from Lie Nielsen at https://www.lie-nielsen.com/product/peter-follansbee/hewing-wooden-bowls-streaming?node=4228.  I highly recommend taking in person classes from makers, but life and college tuition payments has me finding alternate methods of learning.

A large Maple tree came down on my block and I was able to grab enough to make a carving bench and quite a few bowls, kuksas, and spoons.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

With the help of my son, we cut one of the pieces to about 18 inches and split the piece.  The result was what I thought was a nice piece of maple 18 inches long, 12 inches wide, and about 6 inches tall after removing the bark.

Learning bowl in progress
Basic layout and first bits of wood removed from a maple bowl blank

Along the way I found some punky material along the heartwood, not good.  But this isn’t about making a bowl to use, it is about learning.  So I continued.

Learning bowl - what is that?
A bit of punky wood near the heartwood. Not good!

You know how people ask how thin is too thin.  This is too thin.  But this isn’t about making a bowl to use, it is about learning.  So I continued.

Learning bowl oops
Keep checking for thickness. Frame your mistakes.

I worked the outside of the bowl, I worked the inside of the bowl.  I used gouges, a flea market spoke shave, and learned how to use my bench dogs for a new purpose.  All of this was done with a smile on my face, and a few choice words when things didn’t quite go as expected, and I learned.

Learning bowl WIP
Work in progress

Once it dried, I even attempted to do some finishing cuts inside the bowl and work the outside of the bowl with my spoke shave.  I found some very pleasing lines.  Then I decided it was time to learn some chip carving and kolrosing.

I’ve done some more bowls since then.  They’ve all gotten better with practice; less time taken to get further, and more functional.  This is important to me as my priorities are family and work, I think of green wood work as something I learn now so that someday in the future when the time needed for family and work change, I can do more.  What more is, is a good question.

Next post will lay the blame solidly on Dave Fisher.

Author’s note, I ”blame” many people for my actions.  Nice people might use the term inspire.  If I could find a sarcasm font I would use it regularly.

Leave a Reply

